26.1 C

Five Hunter MPs named in NSW Government cabinet


The Hunter will boast five ministers in Premier Chris Minns’ inaugural NSW Government cabinet.

And, in a historical move, Swansea’s Yasmin Catley and Maitland’s Jenny Aitchison are the first women to hold the police and counter-terrorism, and regional transport and roads portfolios, respectively.

Port Stephens’ Kate Washington is overseeing disability inclusion, and families and communities.

Charlestown’s Jodie Harrison will take on three roles, focusing on women, seniors and the prevention of domestic violence and sexual assault.

Newcastle’s Tim Crakanthorp is the Minister for the Hunter, as well as the Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education.

He said he was honoured to receive his appointments.

“As the Shadow Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education, I committed to creating an education system that is for everyone and rebuilding our skills and TAFE sector to train workers for our state’s needs,” Mr Crakanthorp said.

“There is a lot of work to do, but I am excited to be able to continue this and see our vocational education system thrive.

“Being the voice for the Hunter in the cabinet is not a responsibility that I take lightly.

“I will be working with my Hunter colleagues to ensure issues and ideas from across the region are heard.

“We’ll get to work straight away to enhance our region’s future, with protecting Hunter Water and establishing a Hunter Transition Authority just the start.

“The people of NSW have voted for a fresh start for our state.

“So, I am thrilled to be part of the team that will be working every day to deliver that.”

Mr Minns said the newly-elected government had been given a clear mandate from the residents of NSW.

“They want us to rebuild our essential services; invest in the people who look after us – our nurses, teachers, paramedics, police officers and firefighters by removing the wages cap; deal with the crisis in our schools and hospitals, as well as the energy crisis; and help with the rising cost of living,” he explained.

“We have a lot of hard work in front of us, and a big responsibility, but my team and I are up to the challenge.”


  • The Honourable Christopher John Minns MP


  • The Honourable Prudence Ann Car MP

Deputy Premier

Minister for Education and Early Learning

Minister for Western Sydney

  • The Honourable Penelope Gail Sharpe MLC

Minister for Climate Change

Minister for Energy

Minister for the Environment

Minister for Heritage

  • The Honourable John Graham MLC

Special Minister of State 

Minister for Roads

Minister for the Arts

Minister for Music and the Night-time Economy

Minister for Jobs and Tourism

  • The Honourable Daniel Mookhey MLC


  • The Honourable Ryan John Park MP

Minister for Health

Minister for Regional Health

Minister for the Illawarra and the South Coast

  • The Honourable Joanna Elizabeth Haylen MP

Minister for Transport

  • The Honourable Paul Scully MP

Minister for Planning and Public Spaces

  • The Honourable Sophie Cotsis MP

Minister for Industrial Relations

Minister for Work Health and Safety

  • The Honourable Yasmin Maree Catley MP

Minister for Police and Counter-terrorism

  • The Honourable Jihad Dib MP

Minister for Customer Service and Digital Government

Minister for Emergency Services

Minister for Youth Justice

  • The Honourable Kate Rebecca Washington MP

Minister for Families and Communities

Minister for Disability Inclusion

  • The Honourable Michael John Daley MP

Attorney General

  • The Honourable Tara Moriarty MLC

Minister for Agriculture

Minister for Regional New South Wales

Minister for Western New South Wales

  • The Honourable Ron Hoenig MP

Minister for Local Government

Vice-President of the Executive Council

  • The Honourable Courtney Houssos MLC

Minister for Finance

Minister for Natural Resources

  • The Honourable Stephen Kamper MP

Minister for Small Business

Minister for Lands and Property

Minister for Multiculturalism

Minister for Sport

  • The Honourable Rose Jackson MLC

Minister for Water

Minister for Housing

Minister for Homelessness

Minister for Mental Health

Minister for Youth

Minister for the North Coast

  • The Honourable Anoulack Chanthivong MP

Minister for Better Regulation and Fair Trading

Minister for Industry and Trade

Minister for Innovation, Science and Technology

Minister for Corrections

  • The Honourable Timothy Carson Crakanthorp MP

Minister for Skills, TAFE and Tertiary Education

Minister for the Hunter

  • The Honourable David Robert Harris MP

Minister for Aboriginal Affairs and Treaty

Minister for Gaming and Racing

Minister for Veterans

Minister for Medical Research

Minister for the Central Coast

  • The Honourable Jodie Elizabeth Harrison MP

Minister for Women

Minister for Seniors

Minister for the Prevention of Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault

  • The Honourable Jennifer Kathleen Aitchison MP

Minister for Regional Transport and Roads


  • The Honourable Penelope Gail Sharpe MLC

Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

  • The Honourable John Graham MLC

Deputy Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council

  • The Honourable Ron Hoenig MP

Leader of the Government in the Legislative Assembly

For more news stories:

Get all the latest Newcastle news, sport, real estate, entertainment, lifestyle and more delivered straight to your inbox with the Newcastle Weekly Daily Newsletter. Sign up here.

More Stories

Newcastle Weekly

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Newcastle Weekly. News, Community, Lifestyle, Property delivered direct to your inbox! 100% Local, 100% Free.

You have Successfully Subscribed!