19.1 C
Thursday, June 24, 2021

Upper Hunter voters can head to the polls

Early voting is now available for eligible residents of the Upper Hunter electoral district ahead of this month’s NSW by-election.

Following the resignation of Michael Johnsen, 13 candidates – Aberdeen’s Kirsty O’Connell (Independent), Dungog’s Archie Lea (Independent), Newcastle Eva Pears (Liberal Democratic Party), Lower Belford’s Dale McNamara (Pauline Hanson’s One Nation), Clarence Town’s David Layzell (The Nationals), Salisbury’s Tracy Norman (Independent), Muswellbrook’s Steven Reynolds (Independent), Scone’s Sue Abbott (The Greens), McCullys Gap’s Jeff Drayton (Labor), Singleton’s Calum Blair (Sustainable Australia), Annandale’s Michael Dello-Iacovo (Animal Justice Party), Singleton’s Sue Gilroy (Shooters, Fishers and Farmers) and Scone’s Kate Fraser (Independent) – are vying for the vacant seat on Saturday 22 May.

Voting in the by-election is compulsory in the district.

From today, eligible electors who cannot get to a centre on election day can vote early in person.

“Any elector in the Upper Hunter who believes they’ll be unable to vote in person on Saturday 22 May should explore other voting options now to ensure their vote is counted,” NSW Electoral Commissioner John Schmidt said.

“Voters can check their eligibility to vote early, and where they can vote, on the Electoral Commission’s website.”

All early voting centres in the Upper Hunter will be run in line with a COVIDSafe action plan.

Voters are asked to maintain physical distancing and register their attendance upon arrival using the Service NSW app.

They can use their own pen to vote or they will be provided with a single use pen at the voting centre.

Early voting centres will be operating at different times and dates, with details listed on the Commission’s website, in Muswellbrook, Dungog, Quirindi, Gloucester, Sydney CBD, Singleton and Scone.

All early voting centres will close at 5pm on Friday 21 May.

An application to postal vote can be made by eligible electors by returning a completed form by post or online through the Commission’s website.

Applications for postal voting must be received by 6pm on Monday 17 May.

Another option for eligible voters unable to attend in person is the Commission’s technology assisted voting platform, iVote.

There are specific criteria for using iVote, so voters should check first whether they qualify on the website.

Registrations for iVote open on Monday 17 May – and will be accepted until 1pm on election day.

For further information, including checking your eligibility to vote early, by post or by iVote, visit www.elections.nsw.gov.au

For more news stories:

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news straight to your inbox.

You have Successfully Subscribed!