11.6 C

Sabres, Whips, Rosellas and Waratahs book T20 play-off berths


And, then there were four.

Sabres, Whips, Rosellas and Waratahs booked semi-final berths in the Newcastle District Cricket Association’s NCC: T20 Summer Bash at the weekend following dominant displays at Townson Oval and George Farley Oval respectively.

Sabres put the Pumas to the sword, winning by eight wickets, on Sunday 7 February while the Whips pipped the Lions by a mere three runs.

At Wallsend, the Rosellas secured a six-wicket victory over the Tigers and the Waratahs ended the Uni Sea Dragons’ campaign in a shortened fixture.

The semis will now be played on Sunday 14 February at Waratah Oval.

The Sabres face the Whips at 9am, with the Waratahs in battle with the Rosellas from noon.

The winners of those two clashes then meet in the decider later that day.

In the quarter-finals, Sabres skipper Dylan Hunter produced a stunning man of the match performance with both bat and ball.

He picked up 4-28 as the Pumas slumped to 9-38 before a late knock from Sam Webber (41) enabled the side to reach a moderate 78.

Hunter then smashed a quick-fire 53 not out, which included two boundaries and five sixes.

On the back of that innings, the Sabres progressed to 2-79 – and the top four in the competition.

It was a much closer battle between the Whips and Lions.

After opting to bat first, the Belmont-based outfit managed to compile 86, courtesy of Ray Cooper (20) and Luke Muddle (19).

For the Lions, Joshua Geary snared 4-12 and Zachary McGuigan took 3-26.

However, any chance of the team prevailing in its chase was virtually hampered by four run outs.

Despite the efforts of Benjamin Egan (21) and Geary (16), the Lions were bundled out for 83.

Jacob Short (2-8) and Cooper (2-19) shone for the Whips.

The mighty Rosellas flexed their collective muscle in the T20 Summer Bash against the Tigers, who accumulated 90 thanks to Cooper Lemon (26), Ryan Brooks (11) and Vali Graham (10).

Anthony Hobson (3-18) and Jeremy Nunan (3-20) shared the bowling spoils.

Hobson, with support from Ben Chew (13), Aaron Wivell (11) and Joshua Emerton (11), then led the Rosellas to 92, just four poles down.

He remained unbeaten on 37.

Graham backed up with 2-13, with Jacob Page chipping in with 2-15.

In a five-over slog-athon, the Sea Dragons posted 3-52, as James Rushford and Varunesh Sharma each contributed 17.

Nathan Hudson (1-6) and Joshua McTaggart (1-14) were the wicket-takers.

In reply, the Waratahs chased down the target at 3-53, Hudson (18), James Psarakis (15) and Jonty Durrheim (14) all among the runs.

Michael Dowell bagged 2-7.

More Stories

Newcastle Weekly

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Newcastle Weekly. News, Community, Lifestyle, Property delivered direct to your inbox! 100% Local, 100% Free.

You have Successfully Subscribed!