Mining towns welcome funding boost


Local towns and communities embedded within the mining industry are now guaranteed a fairer share of funding.

The NSW Government has revamped its Resources for Regions program, which will deliver an additional $50 million worth of new infrastructure projects and community programs.

The revised funding program will provide 24 local councils with a base amount of $1 million, with a further $26 million weighted to the most mining-affected communities.

“The first six rounds of Resources for Regions delivered $295 million to mining related towns for critical infrastructure and programs, and the revamped fund will build on that success by ensuring funding flows to where it is needed most,” Parliamentary Secretary for the Hunter Catherine Cusack said.

“Round seven of the program will see more than $3.7 million in funding shared across Maitland ($1,236,213), Lake Macquarie ($1,201,525) and Cessnock ($1,312,198) local government areas.

“Every year our vibrant mining towns contribute to the NSW economy, but this success can place extra pressure on local infrastructure or create unique and diverse needs that are specific to mining communities.

“Mining communities and organisations told us what they need and we’ve received those messages loud and clear, which is why the revamped program will provide funding for a wider range of projects and make it easier for councils to secure funding.”

Deputy Premier and Minister responsible for Mining John Barilaro said the changes will not only help create new jobs and drive economic growth, they will also deliver lifestyle improvements and increase the wellbeing of communities for generations to come.

“Knowing how much funding will be available and having the flexibility to work within that funding envelope will allow councils to confidently put forward projects that best support our local communities in Upper Hunter,” he said.

Resources for Regions Round Seven is part of the $1.7 billion Regional Growth Fund, designed to support growing regional centres, activate local economies and improve services and community infrastructure for regional communities.

The 24 eligible Local Government Areas are Bland, Blayney, Bogan, Broken Hill, Cabonne, Cessnock, Cobar, Gunnedah, Lake Macquarie, Lithgow, Liverpool Plains, Maitland, Mid-Western Regional, Muswellbrook, Narrabri, Narromine, Newcastle, Parkes, Orange, Singleton, Upper Hunter, Wentworth, Wollondilly and Wollongong.

For more information, go to the NSW Government’s website.

For more stories like this:

Clarkes Mart
Clarkes Mart