14.5 C

Election time… again


Hunter residents will head to the polls for the second time in as many months on Saturday 18 May to cast their vote in the 2019 Federal Election.

There are four federal electorates in the region; they are Newcastle, Shortland, Hunter and Paterson.

Labor currently reigns in all four, in sitting MPs Sharon Claydon, Pat Conroy, Joel Fitzgibbon and Meryl Swanson, who each occupy a seat in the House of Representatives.

Labor’s foothold dates back to the early-to-mid 1900s in three of the electorates, even when a redistribution of boundaries in 2016 saw the division of Charlton became the division of Hunter.

Paterson has had a slightly more balanced past, with Liberal MPs serving three of seven term blocks since 1949 – two of which Bob Baldwin was at the helm, for a combined total of 17 years.

Early voting is now open. To find an Early Voting Centre near you, or for more information about election day, visit
These are the region’s election candidates, in ballot paper order:


Sharon Claydon, Labor
John Mackenzie, The Greens
Pam Wise, Christian Democratic Party
Geoffrey Scully, United Australia Party
B.J. Futter, The Great Australian Party
Darren Brollo, Animal Justice Party
Katrina Wark, Liberal


Susan Newbury, Sustainable Australia Party
Xing Yu Christian, Democratic Party
Pat Conroy, Labor
Dani Rifai, United Australia Party
Wylie Campbell, The Greens
Bryan McGrath, Animal Justice Party
Nell McGill, Liberal


Stuart Bonds, One Nation
Josh Angus, The Nationals
James Murphy, Animal Justice Party
Paul Davies United, Australia Party
Janet Murray, The Greens
Richard Stretton, Christian Democratic Party
Joel Fitzgibbon, Labor
Max Boddy, Socialist Equality Party


Sachin Joshi, Liberal
Neil Turner, One Nation
Meryl Swanson, Labor
Graham Burston, United Australia Party
Jan Davis, The Greens
Chris Vale, Christian Democratic Party

More stories:

More Stories

Newcastle Weekly

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe to Newcastle Weekly. News, Community, Lifestyle, Property delivered direct to your inbox! 100% Local, 100% Free.

You have Successfully Subscribed!